Brokenness

Brokenness- to be out of working order, not function, horse broken, a broken spirit, submissive

Some might think to be broken might mean to be sad or to go through a great loss. True brokenness is to be broken as a horse is broken and submits to his master. We must first admit we are broken as in ‘not working order’ or ‘not functioning’ before God can make changes in our heart so we can feel better. We have to be broken for God to fix us. We have to admit we don’t have it all together.

This doesn’t come without work or pain. Most people want instant gratification, a quick fix with little work involved. Anything worth having involves work. If we want the blessings and peace God has for us we must submit to him and ask for brokenness and a revival in our soul. We must be willing to submit before our master.

A prayer for brokenness, “Lord, show me what is in my heart I need to change. Help me understand these things so I can experience what you have for me and experience a revival in my life. What selfish, prideful, and dark places exist in my heart? Bring these things to surface and help me to overcome all of these. I pray all these things in Jesus name, Amen.”

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and contrite heart, these, O God, you will not despise. Psalm 51:17

Leave a Reply

